Share This:
http://www.maryhillmuseum.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Media contact:
Rachel Bucci, (509) 364-6946
Maryhill Museum of Art Announces 2013 Special Exhibitions

(GOLDENDALE, Wash., December 20, 2012) –Maryhill Museum of Art today announced its schedule of special exhibitions for the 2013 season, which runs March 15 – November 15, 2013.

The museum’s 2013 season will open with “The Hound of Heaven,” an enigmatic series of 23 paintings by R.H. Ives Gammell, based on the religious poem by English poet Francis Thompson. The season will also include paintings by Eanger Irving Couse, who painted Indian subjects along the Columbia River in the late 19th century, as well as an exhibition of Russian icons drawn from the Museum of Russian Icons in Clinton, Massachusetts.

The museum's permanent exhibitions feature works by Auguste Rodin, European and American paintings, royal memorabilia from Queen Marie of Romania, Orthodox icons, unique chess sets, the renowned Théâtre de la Mode, and American Indian art.

In addition to these permanent exhibitions, Maryhill Museum of Art’s 2013 special exhibition schedule is as follows:

The Hound of Heaven
(March 15 – May 27, 2013)
R.H. Ives Gammell’s A Pictorial Sequence Painted by R. H. Ives Gammell Based on The Hound of Heaven is based on “The Hound of Heaven,” a 182-line religious poem by English poet Francis Thompson (1859–1907). Gammell began making plans to execute the pictorial sequence during World War II and completed it in 1956. The 23 large paintings incorporate symbols drawn from C.G. Jung, primitive and medieval cultures, and biblical and mythological sources. Upper Level Changing Exhibits Gallery

Kenneth Standhardt: Impressions (March 15 – November 15, 2013)
Kenneth Standhardt is a Eugene, Oregon-based ceramic artist who creates intricately patterned stoneware vessels using everyday kitchen tools. Laura & John Cheney Gallery

Arthur Higgins: Prints (March 15 – November 15, 2013)
The late Arthur Higgins (1942–2011) was a prolific sculptor, painter and printmaker. He spent much of his career in Alaska, where he completed more than 40 public art commissions. Higgins moved to Mosier, Oregon, in 1986 and produced many kinetic sculptures, two of which are the collection of Maryhill Museum of Art. This exhibition features 20 of Higgins’ lithographs and woodblock prints—many of which reproduce Pacific Northwest landscapes, plants and bird species. Terrace Level Gallery

Outdoor Sculpture Exhibition (May 18–October 6, 2013)
During 2013, the grounds surrounding Maryhill Museum of Art will feature three works by Portland sculptor Mike Suri. Among these will be Brushing, which was first installed at the museum in 2009. An additional 15 works by other Pacific Northwest artists will also be on view. William and Catherine Dickson Sculpture Park

Eanger Irving Couse on the Columbia River (June 8–September 2, 2013)
Art student Eanger Irving Couse married Virginia Walker in Paris in 1889. Two years later, the couple spent a season living with Virginia’s parents at the Walker Ranch in Klickitat County, where Couse first painted Indian subjects. The couple returned to the area in 1896–1898 and during those years the artist created more works featuring local Indians. The exhibit will showcase 20 original paintings and related artifacts and archival material. Upper Level Changing Exhibits Gallery

Windows to Heaven: Treasures from the Museum of Russian Icons
(September 14–November 15, 2013)
An exhibition featuring 25 historically significant Russian icons that date from 1590 to the present. The exhibition defines icons, the historical process involved with creating them, and the historical background of their systematic destruction by the Iconoclasts (730–787 AD and 813–843 AD). Featured icons include images of St. Nicholas and St. George, Old Testament scenes, the life of Jesus and the Mother of God. Upper Level Changing Exhibits Gallery
Editors & Writers: For photos of 2013 exhibitions, please contact Rachel Bucci at rachel@maryhillmuseum.org.

###

ABOUT MARYHILL MUSEUM OF ART:
Housed in a glorious Beaux Arts mansion on 5,300 acres high above the Columbia River, Maryhill Museum of Art opened to the public May 13, 1940 and today remains one of the Pacific Northwest’s most enchanting cultural destinations. The museum was founded by Northwest entrepreneur and visionary Sam Hill, who purchased the property and began building the house with dreams of establishing a Quaker farming community. When that goal proved untenable, Hill was encouraged by friends Loie Fuller, Queen Marie of Romania, and Alma de Bretteville Spreckles to establish a museum.


Maryhill Museum of Art boasts a world-class permanent collection, rotating exhibitions of the highest caliber, and dynamic educational programs that provide opportunities for further exploration by visitors of all ages. On view are more than 80 works by Auguste Rodin, European and American paintings, objects d'art from the palaces of the Queen of Romania, Orthodox icons, unique chess sets, and the renowned Théâtre de la Mode, featuring small-scale mannequins attired in designer fashions of post-World War II France. Baskets of the indigenous people of North America were a collecting interest of Hill; today the museum’s Native American collection represents nearly every tradition and style in North America, with works of art from prehistoric through contemporary.

Maryhill’s Outdoor Sculpture Garden features more than a dozen large-scale works by Northwest artists. The Maryhill Overlook is a site-specific sculpture by noted Portland architect Brad Cloepfil; nearby are Lewis and Clark interpretive panels. Four miles east of Maryhill is a life-sized replica of Stonehenge, Stonehenge Memorial, which Sam Hill built to memorialize local men who perished in World War I. Nearby, the Klickitat County War Memorial honors those who have died in the service of their country since World War I.

The museum was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1974. In 2001 the museum was listed as an official site of the National Historic Lewis and Clark Trail and in 2002 was accredited by the American Association of Museums. In 2012 the museum opened the Mary and Bruce Stevenson Wing, a 25,500 square foot expansion that is the first in the museum's history. The new wing boasts the M.J. Murdock Charitable Trust Education Center, a collections storage and research suite, a new cafe and terrace, and the Cannon Power Plaza with an installation of sculpture, and sweeping views of the Columbia River Gorge and Mount Hood in the distance.

VISITOR INFORMATION:

Maryhill Museum of Art is open daily from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., March 15 to November 15. Admission is $9 for adults, $8 for seniors, $3 for youth age 7-18 and free for children 6 and under. Admission to the Stonehenge Memorial is free; it is open from 7:00 a.m. to dusk daily.
Sandwiches, salads, espresso drinks, cold beverages, and freshly baked desserts and pastries, as well as a selection of local wines are available at the museum's cafe, Loie's, from 10:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. daily; the Museum Store features art and history books, jewelry, Native American crafts and other mementos.
Maryhill is located off Highway 97, 12 miles south of Goldendale, Washington. Drive times to the museum are 2 hours from Portland/Vancouver, 3.5 hours from Bend, 4 hours from Seattle, and 1.5 hours from Yakima. For further information, visit www.maryhillmuseum.org.

Maryhill Museum of Art | 35 Maryhill Museum Drive | Goldendale, WA 98620 | 509-773-3733

close window